Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: Platanistasa
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 21 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
On the floor of the church are some strange carved graffiti
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 21 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Above the Holy Men
Baptism of Jesus, Raising of Lazarus, Palm Sunday, Resurrection of Jesus
On the right
St. Mammes of Caesarea riding a lion
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 21 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Nativity of the Virgin Mary
Saint Anna is reclining on a bed
Midwives are shown bathing the newborn Virgin Mary.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Evangelist Luke
with brush or palette
Christian tradition, beginning in the 8th century, holds that Luke was the first icon painter. He is said to have painted images of the Virgin Mary with the Christ Child, notably the Hodegetria icon in Constantinople. It is claimed that the Kykkos Monastery received this icon as a gift from the Byzantine Emperor Alexios I Komnenos - and still keeps it.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Above the Holy Men
Matthew 26: 34 “Truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “this very night, before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times.”
Matthew 27:24 When Pilate saw that he was getting nowhere, but that instead an uproar was starting, he took water and washed his hands in front of the crowd. “I am innocent of this man’s blood,” he said. “It is your responsibility!”
Matthew 27:27-29 Then the governor’s soldiers took Jesus into the Praetorium and gathered the whole company of soldiers around him. They stripped him and put a scarlet robe on him, and then twisted together a crown of thorns and set it on his head. They put a staff in his right hand. Then they knelt in front of him and mocked him. “Hail, king of the Jews!” they said.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Below the Crucifixion scene:
The Last Supper, the Washing of the Feet, the Garden of Gethsemane, the Kiss of Judas, ?
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Abraham
Gen 22:12 - 13
“Do not lay a hand on the boy,” he said. “Do not do anything to him. Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.”
Abraham looked up and there in a thicket he saw a ram caught by its horns. He went over and took the ram and sacrificed it as a burnt offering instead of his son."
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Jesus Raises Lazarus From the Dead
John 11:43-44
"When he had said this, Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!” The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 20 Apr 2026 |
|
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
The scenes surrounding the crucifix belong to a cycle about Saint Helena's discovery of the True Cross..
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inside the walls and the roof built around.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule.
The church is completey inide the walls and the roof built around.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Another inscription mentions Phillip Goul, a hellenised Syrian Orthodox, as the painter of the church. A master whose work reflects the continued vitality of Orthodox artistic traditions under Venetian rule. The church is completey inide the walls and the roof built around. This is one of the three portals.
The Last Judgment
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The single-nave Church of the Holy Cross in Agiasmati was once part of a monastery that was abandoned already in the mid-18th century. Although the exact date of the church's construction is unknown, it is generally agreed that the decorations were completed in 1494.
From the outside, the church appears very simple and resembles a barn. The wooden roof rests on a wall surrounding the church, creating a four sided portico, a covered kind of cloister around the church itself. An insciption above the south door tells, that the church was erected through a donation of a priest named Peter and his wife Pepani.
Since 1985 Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region".
Timios Stavros tou Agiasmati
| 19 Apr 2026 |
|
|
The "Church of the Holy Cross of Agiasmati" is part of the "Painted Churches in the Troodos Region" a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The complex comprises ten Byzantine churches and monasteries richly decorated with Byzantine and post-Byzantine murals.
In 965 AD, Cyprus was annexed by the Byzantine Empire. Over a period of 500 years many Byzantine churches were constructed in the region.
Jump to top
RSS feed- Martin M. Miles' latest photos with "Platanistasa" - Photos
- ipernity © 2007-2026
- Help & Contact
|
Club news
|
About ipernity
|
History |
ipernity Club & Prices |
Guide of good conduct
Donate | Group guidelines | Privacy policy | Terms of use | Statutes | In memoria -
Facebook
X
















