Posted on 11/23/2007

Photo taken on March 26, 2006

See also...


Jim Corbett National Park

Authorizations, license

Visible by: Everyone
Attribution + non Commercial + no derivative

263 visits

Still Water - Udit Kulshrestha

Still Water - Udit Kulshrestha
Ramganga Waterfalls at Corbett, Uttranchal, India.

Ramganga West river originates from Doodhatoli ranges in the district of Pauri Garhwal, Uttarakhand state of India. The river Ramganga flows to south west from Kumaun Himalaya. It is a tributary of the river Ganga, originates from the high altitude zone of 800m-900m. Ramganga flows by the Corbett National Park near Ramnagar of Nainital district from where it descends upon the plains.

Jim Corbett National Park — named after the famous hunter and naturalist who played a key role in its establishment — is the oldest national park in India. The park was originally established in 1936 as Hailey National Park. Situated in Nainital district of Uttarakhand, the park acts as a protected area for the critically endangered Bengal tiger of India, the secure survival of which is the main objective of Project Tiger, an Indian wildlife protection initiative.

The park has sub-Himalayan belt geographical and ecological characteristics. It contains 488 different species of plants and a diverse variety of fauna. During recent times the park has been a popular ecotourism destination.

The park is located between 29°25' to 29°39'N latitude and 78°44' to 79°07'E longitude. The average altitude of the region ranges between 360 metres (1,181 ft) and 1,040 metres (3,412 ft). It has numerous ravines, ridges, minor streams and small plateaus with varying aspects and degrees of slopes. The park encompasses the Patli Dun valley formed by the Ramganga river.

The reserve, located partly along a valley between the Lesser Himalaya in the north and the Siwaliks in the south, has a sub-Himalayan belt structure. The upper tertiary rocks are exposed towards the base of the Siwalik range and hard sandstone units form broad ridges. Characteristic longitudinal valleys, geographically termed Doons, or Duns can be seen formed along the narrow tectonic zones between lineaments.

The reserve does not allow hunting, but does permit timber cutting for domestic purposes

Corbett National Park is one of the thirteen protected areas covered by World Wildlife Fund under their Terai Arc Landscape Programme. The programme aims to protect three of the five terrestrial flagship species, the tiger, the Asian elephant and the Great One-horned Rhinoceros, by restoring corridors of forest to link 13 protected areas of Nepal and India to enable wildlife migration

Jim Corbett National Park