dogmarten28

dogmarten28

Posted on 08/24/2013


Photo taken on July  5, 2013



See also...

The English Parish Church The English Parish Church


East Anglia East Anglia


Architecture of Days Gone By Architecture of Days Gone By


WORLD RELIGIONS WORLD RELIGIONS


Give PEACE a Chance! Give PEACE a Chance!


Suffolk. Suffolk.


Flickr Refugees Flickr Refugees


suffolk churches suffolk churches


New Flickr Survivors New Flickr Survivors


La Maison du Bonheur !.. La Maison du Bonheur !..


Panasonic LUMIX Panasonic LUMIX


Churches Churches


See more...

Keywords

village
Mid-Suffolk
Hunston
Norman font
dogmarten28
Early English
14th century
transept
Suffolk
St. Michael
East Anglia
1882
church
J H Heigham


Authorizations, license

Visible by: Everyone
All rights reserved

386 visits

St. Michael, Hunston (1)

St. Michael, Hunston (1)
Hunston is a small village set in a conservation area of Mid-Suffolk and lies about 12km east of Bury St Edmunds. It is set in flattish, mostly arable, farmland.

St Michael's Church stands at the end of a long farm track just south of the village centre, behind the site of Hunston Hall. The most noticable part of this quite small church is the comparatively large south transept. It is an interesting specimen of Early English architecture. There are a number of Early English windows and some perpendicular insertions. The nave roof is hammer-beam type, the restored chancel roof being copied from it. The chancel arch is plain, supported on circular shafts with richly foliated capitals.

The priest's door to the south is is headed by a boldly trefoliated segmented arch; the cusps are terminated with fleur-de-lys. In the east wall of the transept is a niche leaf with beautiful moulding of foliate design In the south-east angle of the transept is a beautiful Early English double piscina under two trefoil arches one in each wall supported on three circular shafts the central shaft being in the angle of the walls In the chancel are two ancient benches with well carved poppy heads. The font is Norman. Near the font is a well preserved chest of unusual design.

The 14th Century flint tower, which contains 5 bells, is of three stages without buttresses with a late brick parapet. In 1887 the chancel was restored by the late J H Heigham. The chancel floor was relaid with mosaic work by Major C Heigham, who in 1882 placed 6 new windows in the chancel. The most recent refurbishment completed in 2005 was restoration of a central window in the chancel.

Lorenzo Kjell Salmonson, Danielle, fifi and 2 other people have particularly liked this photo


Comments
Don Sutherland
Don Sutherland
Wonderful photo.
3 years ago.
Peter Van Der Houwen
Peter Van Der Houwen
Such a charming little church!
3 years ago.
╰☆☆June☆☆╮
╰☆☆June☆☆╮
Great capture, thank you for sharing with us at Historical & Architectural Gems
www.ipernity.com/group/332973
3 years ago.
Filip
Filip
Très belle série de toutes ces jolies églises .
3 years ago.
Danielle
Danielle
Une très belle série de maisons !!!!!!!!
3 years ago.