dogmarten28

dogmarten28

Posted on 07/17/2013


Photo taken on June 20, 2012



See also...

Architecture of Days Gone By Architecture of Days Gone By


Give PEACE a Chance! Give PEACE a Chance!


Suffolk. Suffolk.


New Flickr Survivors New Flickr Survivors


See more...

Keywords

market
Archangel Gabriel
dogmarten28
St. Mary
Suffolk
East Anglia
Guildhall
Eye
15th century
half-timbered
shop
school
office
town
John Upson


Authorizations, license

Visible by: Everyone
All rights reserved

278 visits

Eye, Guildhall of St. Mary

Eye, Guildhall of St. Mary
Located next door to the Church of St Peter and St Paul , Eye Guildhall of St. Mary dates from the late 15th century and was possibly bequeathed by John Upson “for the good of his soul”. It was largely rebuilt in 1875 by JK Colling as a headmaster's house for adjoining Eye Grammar school until 1965 and is now offices and shop. The corner post still has its medieval carved figure of Archangel Gabriel, and two arched window heads also have original carving.

Lorenzo Kjell Salmonson, Philippe_28, fifi, Don Sutherland and 2 other people have particularly liked this photo


6 comments - The latest ones
╰☆☆June☆☆╮
╰☆☆June☆☆╮
Lovely capture..
Thank you for sharing :-))

Seen in Historical & Architectural Gems.
www.ipernity.com/group/332973
4 years ago.
Peter Van Der Houwen
Peter Van Der Houwen
Very decorative architecture!
4 years ago.
Polyrus
Polyrus
Wonderful image & info Bruce.
4 years ago.
Don Sutherland
Don Sutherland
Outstanding shot.
4 years ago.
Philippe_28
Philippe_28
Magnificent house
4 years ago.
Fizgig
Fizgig
Beautiful old house! Nicely captured, too =)
~ Architectural Marvels ~
4 years ago.