See also...

Stone Faces Stone Faces



Keywords

14
amoureux de Bayeux
Eugène Viollet-le-Duc
Temple de la Raison
Eudes
Odon de Bayeux
Harold Godwinson
Bayeux Tapestry
Notre-Dame de Bayeux
William the Bastard
Odo
William the Conqueror
Bayeux
Calvados
France
Bayeux Lovers Basse-Normandie


Authorizations, license

Visible by: Everyone
All rights reserved

164 visits

Bayeux - Cathedral

Bayeux - Cathedral
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".

As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".

The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.

At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.

The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.

The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings. This couple is known under the name "Les amoureux de Bayeux", "The Bayeux Lovers". They do not look really happy.

Comments