See also...

Authorizations, license

Visible by: Everyone
All rights reserved

94 visits

Artemis Firstsail AC72

Artemis Firstsail AC72
The AC72 (America's Cup 72 class) is a wing sail catamaran box rule, governing the construction and operation of the yachts to be used in the 2013 Louis Vuitton Cup selection series and the 2013 America's Cup.

Demetrius Chryssikos
Demetrius Chryssikos
Artemis Racing is a professional sailing team founded in 2006 by businessman and sailor Torbjörn Törnqvist, named after Artemis, the ancient Greek goddess.
2007: won the MedCup circuit, then called Breitling Medcup, and the TP52 World Championship.
2008: entered the RC44 Championship, winning the fleet racing element in 2009 and the World title in 2011.
2009-2010: competed in the Louis Vuitton Trophy regattas. Held in response to long delays from legal action surrounding the America's Cup, the four regattas were each staged in a different country, and teams raced in supplied IACC yachts.
2011–2012 America’s Cup World Series: won the Match Racing title in both the Naples & Venice Regattas then won the Match Racing titles in the first two regattas of the three-part 2012-2013 season.
2013: the first of the two AC72 catamarans the team was testing capsized and turtled resulting in the death of crewmember Andrew "Bart" Simpson. This was the second major accident involving the current AC72, following the capsizing of defending Cup champion Oracle Team USA on October 16, 2012.
2017: In August 2014 Artemis Racing announced its challenge for the 35th America’s Cup which is scheduled to be raced in Bermuda in the summer of 2017. The team continue to design and build their boats for the 35th America's Cup challenge, from a converted aircraft hangar in Alameda, California.
2 years ago.