Serge Thellier

Serge Thellier

Posted on 03/31/2011

Photo taken on March 31, 2011




Authorizations, license

Visible by: Everyone
Attribution + non Commercial + share Alike

76 visits


Landscapes of Xinjiang, Paysages du Xinjiang

Xinjiang (Uyghur: شىنجاڭ‎, ULY: Shinjang; Mandarin pronunciation: [ɕíntɕjɑ́ŋ]; Chinese: 新疆; pinyin: Xīnjiāng; Wade–Giles: Hsin1-chiang1; Postal map spelling: Sinkiang) is an autonomous region (Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region) of the People's Republic of China. It is the largest Chinese administrative division and spans over 1.6 million km2. Xinjiang borders Russia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India, has abundant oil reserves and is China's largest natural gas-producing region.
With a documented history of at least 2,500 years, there have been a succession of different peoples and empires vying for control over the territory. Prior to the 21st century, the region has been ruled at various times by the Yuezhi, Xiongnu Empire, Han Dynasty, Sixteen Kingdoms of the Jin Dynasty (Former Liang, Former Qin, Later Liang, and Western Liáng), Tang Dynasty, Uyghur Khaganate, Kara-Khanid Khanate, Mongol Empire (Yuan Dynasty), Dzungar Khanate, and Manchu Qing Dynasty.

Le Xinjiang (en ouïghour : شىنجاڭ Shinjang — nom officiel chinois : 新疆, pinyin Xīnjiāng, « Région autonome ouïghoure du Xinjiang »), appelé également Turkestan oriental, est une des cinq régions autonomes de la République populaire de Chine, au statut particulier, comme la Mongolie-Intérieure ou le Tibet. Situé à son extrême ouest, il s'étend sur 1 660 001 km² et occupe un sixième du territoire chinois. Le Xinjiang possède une frontière commune avec huit pays, soit la Mongolie, la Russie, l'Inde, le Pakistan, le Kirghizistan, le Kazakhstan, l'Afghanistan et le Tadjikistan.