Colosseum - The Complete Reunion Concert

Cologne 1994 (2003)
Colosseum - The Complete Reunion Concert Cologne 1994 (2003)
DVD-9 | PAL | VOB | 4:3 (720x576) | 90 min | All Regions | 8.0 GB | Scans
English | Color | Dolby Digital 2.0 | Dolby Digital 5.1 | RAR 3% |,
Genre: Rock, Jazz-rock
Led by drummer Jon Hiesman, Colosseum were at the forefront of the jazz-rock scene at the end of the 1960's. This disc captures them in 1994... their first live performance for 23 years! A documentary tracing the history of the band is also included.
Drummer Jon Hiseman seemingly had low expectations for a Colosseum reunion. The group decided to re-form at keyboardist Dave Greenslade' 50th birthday party, although Hiseman wasn't sure the timing was right. He was hopeful his German bookers could maybe put together six shows; they swiftly found 30, with Colosseum going on to play over 100 gigs during 1994-1995. And why not? In their three-year lifespan, the group racked up three U.K. Top 20 albums, while simultaneously blowing the socks off of Germany and much of Europe. And coming back together after two decades was, judging by the music here, a lot like coming home. The Reunion Concert Cologne 1994 took place at the E-Werk in Cologne, and was the band's second gig together. Filmed for German television, it resulted in the Reunion Concerts 1994 live album which was released the following year. A video of the gig also hit the shelves, and later a DVD, with this two-disc set completing the package, as the CD features the songs left off the original live album. Those include an exuberant sax-led take on "Those About to Die," a wild ride through "Skellington," and a quartet of excellent covers which all featured on the band's 1971 Colosseum Live album. It was this lineup that let loose that set, and they sound just as good 20-plus years later, with the group eagerly swinging into their legendary "The Valentyne Suite" and other grand numbers from their heyday across the DVD. A splendid show now finally available in its entirety.
~ by Jo-Ann Greene,


01. Those About To Die
02. Skelington
03. Elegy
04. Tanglewood '63 The Valentyne Suite
05. January's Search
06. February's Valentyne
07. The Grass Is Always Greener
08. Rope Ladder To The Moon
09. Theme For An Imaginary Western
10. The Machine Demands Another Sacrifice
11. Solo Colonia (Drumsolo)
12. Lost Angeles
13. Stormy Monday Blues
14. Walking In The Park

Jon Hiseman - Pearl Drums, Paiste Cymbols & Gongs
Chris Farlowe - Vocals
Dick Heckstall-Smith - Tenor & Soprano Saxophones
Clem Clempson - Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Vocals
Dave Greenslade - Hammond Organ, Premier Vibraphone, Roland U20, EMU Proteus 2
Mark Clarke - Bass Guitar, Hartke Amplification, Vocals

Don't post mirrors, please
Welcome to My Blog
Download Colosseum - The Complete Reunion Concert Cologne 1994:
Colosseum - The Complete Reunion Concert Cologne 1